Youth Council

Eighteen young people representing schools, youth clubs and uniformed organisations met for the first time in January and have met on a monthly basis since.  Michael Brown, a Youth worker with Lancashire County Council,  PCSO Jenny Higgs are working together with the newly formed council.

The young people have been actively involved in discussions arising from a student survey about the town.  From this they have developed a series of priorities they wish to pursue and discuss in the future.

One point that was made most strongly was the need for the proposed 20mph zone to be extended around the Lytham High School to include Church Road. Current proposals don’t include this road, yet it is one of the busiest roads in the area and there have already been  several accidents involving young people.

The youngsters were also pleased to learn that one of the issues raised by the skateboarding group  about lighting in Ashton Gardens has already been addressed with the Town Council and the Local Strategic partnership combining to purchase solar powered lighting columns which are due to be  installed shortly.

It is clear that all the members of the Youth Council want to be viewed  in a positive light as they felt that in the media and by the public in general that young people are viewed negatively. They are eager to take on local projects and to raise money for charity in order to raise their profile and awareness of their positive contribution to the town.

Cllr. Tony Ford has worked hard behind the scenes to set up the Youth Council. He visited youth clubs and schools in what has proved to be a successful attempt to gain their interest and St. Anne’s  can now boast a representative body for the town’s young people.

Meeting Dates 2016

All meetings take place on Sundays at  6pm  at the Town Council Offices in West Lodge, St George’s Road, adjacent to Ashton Gardens.

Sunday 7th February

Sunday 6th March

Sunday 3rd April

Sunday 1st May

Sunday 5th June

Sunday 3rd July

Sunday 7th August

Sunday 4th September

Sunday 2nd October

Sunday 6th November

Sunday 4th December